Skip to content

New additions to Western Power board

The State Government has approved the appointment of two new members to the Western Power board - Vicki Krause and Sharon Warburton.

Energy Minister Mike Nahan said Ms Krause and Ms Warburton bring a wealth of knowledge from their experience with large Western Australian-based businesses.

Ms Krause served as legal counsel at Wesfarmers for 25 years, seven of those as Chief Legal Counsel.

"Ms Krause's extensive career with Wesfarmers, combined with her regulatory and commercial expertise, will be an asset to Western Power as it transitions from the Economic Regulation Authority to the Australian Energy Regulator," Dr Nahan said.

Ms Warburton is the executive director of Strategy and Finance at Brookfield Multiplex and serves on the boards of Fortescue Metals Group, Curtin Business School - Asia Business Centre and the Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation.

"Ms Warburton has extensive experience in change management and driving leadership and cultural change which will be beneficial to Western Power as it moves through a business performance review," the Minister said.

"Western Power has evolved over the past decade to become a more efficient customer focused business and I have no doubt Ms Krause and Ms Warburton will be instrumental in the continued improvement of the organisation."

Ms Warburton and Ms Krause replace outgoing directors Paul Underwood and Sue Wilson.

Dr Nahan recognised the significant contributions Mr Underwood and Ms Wilson have made to the network service provider.

"I sincerely thank them for sharing their expertise and knowledge with Western Power," he said.

Fact file:

  • Sharon Warburton was awarded the 2014 WA Telstra Business Woman of the Year
  • Vicki Krause completed the Program for Management Development at the Harvard Business School
  • The new appointees will join recently appointed chairman Colin Beckett and directors Greg Martin and Peter Iancov
  • Western Power is a State Government-owned corporation committed to providing safe, reliable and affordable electricity to more than one million customers across a network area of 255,064km2
Share this article