Skip to content

Minister welcomes new directors of Western Power

Energy Minister Ben Wyatt has announced the appointment of two new members to the Board of Western Power - Denise Goldworthy and Eva Skira. 

View Denise and Eva's biographies

CEO Guy Chalkley (centre) with Western Power’s newly-appointed directors Denise Goldsworthy and Eva Skira 

The Energy Minister released the following media statement today to announce the appointments:

Minister welcomes new directors of Western Power

Energy Minister Ben Wyatt has announced changes to the Board of Western Power, with the appointment of two new members, Eva Skira and Denise Goldsworthy.

Ms Goldsworthy and Ms Skira replace outgoing directors Sharon Warburton and Western Power's longest serving current board member, George Cash. Peter Iancov has also been reappointed for a further term.

Ms Skira has more than 20 years' experience in senior roles across banking, financial markets and stockbroking, along with strategic management consulting. Her previous board experience includes roles as chairperson of government-owned entities the Water Corporation, Westscheme and the Forest Products Commission.

Ms Goldsworthy is an experienced director with listed, government and not-for-profit boards along with senior executive experience across the resources sector. Ms Goldsworthy is currently chairperson of the ChemCentre WA Board and chairperson of the Trustees of the Navy Clearance Divers' Trust. She is also a member of the Edith Cowan University Governing Council and a board member of the Minerals Research Institute of WA and Export Finance and Insurance Corporation.

The new appointments take female representation on the Western Power board to 50 per cent.

Comments attributed to Energy Minister Ben Wyatt:

"On behalf of the State Government, I would like to congratulate Ms Skira and Ms Goldsworthy on their appointments.

"I am sure that their extensive experience will be a valuable addition to the board, and will continue to enhance the governance of Western Power.

"I have no doubt that the refreshed board will continue to help shape the utility to deliver the energy needs of Western Australians, while supporting the integration of new forms of generation and efficiency technologies."

Share this article